e429

Desiring to build others up & give grace to those who visit

Labor In the Little Things or Go Big For God

The other day, my friend & I were discussing (among other things) what the local church should be like & how it should exude the Gospel in all aspects of ministry both corporately & individually. He made a statement during our discussion to the effect of him tending to think big about this things with the implication (in my mind, anyway) that this could be, at least partially, a negative thing.

So on Wednesday evening I tweeted the following quote from DL Moody:

A good many are kept out of the service of Christ, deprived of the luxury of working for God because they are trying to do some great thing. Let us be willing to do little things. And let us remember that nothing is small in which God is the source.

Now, I must confess, I was thinking of my friend when I tweeted this, but when I came across this quote, I really liked it & would have probably tweeted it anyway.

Well, the next day my friend tweeted this quote from JD Greear (which I think he had mentioned to me during our conversation but I had forgotten):

The gospel fills us with audacious faith, making us expect great things of God and then attempt great things for God.

After reading that, I thought, “Wow! That’s a great quote; maybe Moody has it wrong.” But the more I consider these two ideas, the more I’m beginning to think they’re not mutually exclusive, and I wonder if they can’t be reconciled this way:

Be faithful in the little things, but expect God to do great things.

Or maybe:

Don’t attempt great things for God unless you are willing to do the little things.

I’m not sure that either of my ideas are correct, but I’m relatively convinced that both Moody & Greear are correct.

What do you think? I’d love to hear others’ ideas.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Labor In the Little Things or Go Big For God

  1. Gary Coovert on said:

    I think both have to be correct. Jesus teaches that he who is faithful in little can be trusted with much and that He desires to do great things through His followers. The problem lies with people who aspire to great and mighty things for Christ that are not willing to do the little things for Christ. My belief is there is a clear progression that each believer much find for him or herself. Furthermore, when you look at the “add to ” passages in Scripture we are each commanded to be continually growing.

    • Gary,
      Thanks for responding. I appreciate your insight & I think you’re correct. What I wonder is: should we purposely strive for great things (while being faithful in the small things) or merely labor in the little things & wait to see what God will do?

Leave a Reply

